Skip to Main Content
Hello and welcome!
This guide is a starting point to learing about the field of psychology. I am happy to meet with you for more in-depth assistance. Click on the link in my profile to contact me with questions.
Faculty members may click below for information about the specialized services subject librarians can bring to the courses they teach.
To begin searching for articles for your research, go to the library homepage and use the OneSearch search box to begin. This tab will allow you to search for articles, books, e-resources, and more, at both CSU, Chico and throughout the CSU system.
Articles and Databases
Locate at Databases A-Z
Most Useful Databases for Psychology
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full text access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 80 journals in psychology, including journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), covering general, specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Academic Search This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO
ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Educational Resources Information Center) An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
Provides access to psychological tests from 1896-present with measures, scales, and other assessments. Full, downloadable, tests for 76% of the 20,000 records. Includes descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration, mostly drawn from articles in peer-reviewed journals or books. Covers a diverse array of subject areas and types of tests including developmental, behavioral, racial, physical health, education, aptitude, and occupational.
Other Useful Databases for Psychology
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Biological Abstracts Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts 1926-present, indexes journals covering life science topics that range from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. In addition to searching for articles on your topic, you can use Biological Abstracts to find cited references, determine impact factor and much more. Full text may be available via the "Find It" link.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides some full text of journals in all sub-disciplines of sociology. Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,200 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico