Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Login instructions:
1) login with your CSU Portal Username and Password if prompted (off campus only).

2) Use this username and password to login to the trial:

User id: CSULibraries

Password: 9GmfEWhp

Database overview:

Sourced from the Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, this archive provides a massive collection of Native American resources including content going from the earliest contact with Europeans to contemporary civil rights issues. The collection includes thousands of monographs, legal and financial records, diaries, travel journals, photographs, maps, newspapers, artwork, treaties, and tribal records. Also, the collection, unlike others, includes material related to native peoples of Canada, Mesoamerica, and the Caribbean.
Trial
Login instructions:
1) login with your CSU Portal Username and Password if prompted (off campus only).

2) Use this username and password to login to the trial:

User id: CSULibraries

Password: 9GmfEWhp

Database overview:
“From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada.” This archive includes dozens of American Indian newspapers, both in native languages and English. It is a rare archive that gives direct voice to the Native American experience from the Native American perspective.
Trial
Login instructions:
1) login with your CSU Portal Username and Password if prompted (off campus only).

2) Use this username and password to login to the trial:

User id – csusrdc

Password – falltrial@21

Database overview:
The EDS database is meant as a compliment to Academic Premier or Complete collections, or as a standalone database. It includes “465 active full-text journals, magazines and newspapers (growing to 500+)”, many of which are peer-reviewed and non-open access. Of these 203 journals do not overlap with Ethnic Newswatch. In addition, EDS provides access to 4,500+ ebooks, 2,000+ full-text biographies, over 6,300 primary source documents, and various other resources including historical documents and hundreds of curated videos from the Associated Press. EBSCO states they are committed to developing and expanding this resource in the future.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Subjects Covered: History, News, Genealogy, Homework Help, Historical Newspapers
Trial
“The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps. Most of the content in this module is unique to ProQuest, and there are publicly available sites that include some material that is also included in this module. The overlap is estimated at 20%.” “The records are expansive, providing an excellent portrait of incarceration camp management, the failings of the segregation process, the mindset of Japanese Americans in the camps and resettlement.”
Trial
Login instructions:
1) login with your CSU Portal Username and Password if prompted (off campus only).

2) Use this username and password to login to the trial:

User id: CSULibraries

Password: 9GmfEWhp

Database overview:

This archive is “sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.” It contains a wide variety of documents in various formats including hundreds of hours of audio recordings and photographs. The archive is a treasure trove of material covering topics including desegregation of schools, migration of African Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, and racial tensions in the United States. The collection also provides a wealth of survey materials and detailed case studies.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico