DataSets and Statistics

Learn about the data available from the US Census using the American Fact Finder.

A good place to begin when looking for data on health and disease. Arranged by topic, or under a category for Healthy Living, which includes a variety of health related topics (smoking, obesity, nutrition, environmental health, etc).

Easily downloadable (XML) data on a variety of topics related to public health, including: diseases, facilities, healthcare, environment, demographics and resources.

Databib is a searchable catalog / registry / directory / bibliography of research data repositories.

Open data from the U.S. federal government.

A portal to data and analysis provided by the World Health Organization. Contains more than 50 data sets in 1000 health indicators from 194 WHO member countries. Browse the Reports for topics.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

(1878-2011). Historical statistics and privately published versions are available in Reference & Main collections, call number HA 202.

Start here it learn what it is all about. Then go to the other Census links.

A collection that allow users to access statistics and population data interactively. Read the "Getting Started Quick Guide" before you do anything else. It is from the CDC, but may get you to the datasets quickly. Also, take note of the "Data Access" links on the left.