Anthropology

Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.

Full-text database of American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications. Titles also available via Wiley Online Library.

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: eHRAF, HRAF
Small but growing collection of HRAF full text and graphical materials supplemented, in some cases, with additional research through approximately the 1980's. The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography includes approximately 48 cultures, and regular additions are planned. Subjects Covered: Anthropology, Ethnography, Health practices, Kinship systems, Religion, and other aspects of human culture and behavior. HRAF microfilm collection on the Library 2nd floor is much more comprehensive.
Note: this database is not covered in Onsearch @ Chico

Abstracts of information in anthropology, cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics.

Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.

Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO

Biological Abstracts 1926-present, indexes journals covering life science topics that range from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. In addition to searching for articles on your topic, you can use Biological Abstracts to find cited references, determine impact factor and much more. Full text may be available via the "Find It" link.

Abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.

Full text of over 1,200 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.

Sourced from the Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, this archive provides a massive collection of Native American resources including content going from the earliest contact with Europeans to contemporary civil rights issues. The collection includes thousands of monographs, legal and financial records, diaries, travel journals, photographs, maps, newspapers, artwork, treaties, and tribal records. Also, the collection, unlike others, includes material related to native peoples of Canada, Mesoamerica, and the Caribbean.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. This archive includes dozens of American Indian newspapers, both in native languages and English. It is a rare archive that gives direct voice to the Native American experience from the Native American perspective.

Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.

Scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.

465 active full-text journals, magazines and newspapers, many of which are peer-reviewed and non-open access. EDS provides access to 4,500+ ebooks, 2,000+ full-text biographies, over 6,300 primary source documents, and various other resources including historical documents and hundreds of curated videos from the Associated Press.

Also includes eBook Subscription Diversity & Ethnic Studies

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

Contains broad information on individual countries. In addition to the usual demographic, economic, geography and government information, it also includes detailed information on business culture, greetings and courtesies, superstitions, stereotypes and much, much more.

By accessing Google Scholar via the link above, your search results will include “Find it @ Chico” links to articles when full text of the resource is available.

Indexes and abstracts information covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by "America: History & Life"), including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.

The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps. The expansive records provide an excellent portrait of incarceration camp management, the failings of the segregation process, the mindset of Japanese Americans in the camps, and resettlement.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

This archive is “sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.” It contains a wide variety of documents in various formats including hundreds of hours of audio recordings and photographs. The archive is a treasure trove of material covering topics including desegregation of schools, migration of African Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, and racial tensions in the United States. The collection also provides a wealth of survey materials and detailed case studies.

Over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.

This database brings together essential legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including every federal, state, and colony statute on slavery, as well as all reported state and federal cases on the subject. Slavery-related case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended, courts were still resolving issues emanating from the practice. Additionally there are hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery and every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, including many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals from the U.S. and elsewhere and more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. Finally, this database also includes many modern histories of slavery and a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject.

Using US Census data, map multiple points of data to research trends in business, health, government, society, and more.

Full text of over 1,200 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.