FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
On Nutrition Data, you'll find detailed nutrition information, plus unique analysis tools that tell you more about how foods affect your health and make it easier to choose healthy foods.
The California Produce Safety Program is a unit operating under the California Department of Food and Agriculture’s Inspection Services Division. It exists to help bring California produce farms into compliance with U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Produce Safety Rule.
University of Sydney. comprehensive database of GI tested foods. Complete with data for Glycemic Index, Glycemic Load, serving size, direct references to the studies used to calculate the values.
CSPI’s work improves the way America eats by transforming the food environment in schools, restaurants, grocery stores, and public places. We fight to keep our food supply free of dangerous chemicals and pathogens. We push government and industry to make transparent, science-based decisions.
Coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services..
At Testing.com, we help consumers advocate for their health by providing them with learning guides and products that make lab testing accessible, convenient and affordable.
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) provides global leadership for a research, training, and education program to promote the prevention and treatment of heart, lung, and blood disorders and enhance the health of all individuals so that they can live longer and more fulfilling lives.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is a unique, state-based surveillance system active in all 50 states. This system is the primary source of state-based information on risk behaviors (including poor diet and physical inactivity) among adult populations.
The National Center for Health Statistics is the nation's source for official health statistics. We collect, analyze, and share data and statistics to guide programs and policies that improve the health of people across the United States.
Through the Older Americans Act (OAA) Nutrition Program, ACL’s Administration on Aging (AoA) provides grants to states to help support nutrition services for older people throughout the country.
Has searchable Food Composition Products data sets. Allows you to download the USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, USDA Table of Nutrient Retention Factors, and more. Has links to other food composition and nutrition home pages.
Quackwatch is an international network of people who are concerned about health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct. Its primary focus is on quackery-related information that is difficult or impossible to get elsewhere.
The Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDOP) includes over 240,000 up-to-date grant maker profiles. Included in the Directory is in-depth information regarding not only the grants issued by the grant makers, but also who the recipients are, and for what purpose the grants were made.
Access to FDOP is restricted to Chico State IP addresses on-site in the Meriam Library building.
