A SWOT analysis (alternatively SWOT matrix) is a structured planning method used to evaluate the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats involved in a project or in a business venture. A SWOT analysis is particularly useful in identifying both internal and external factors that are essential in decision-making.
Types of company information
- Company strategy (use annual reports and company history)
- Financial performance and ratios (use subscription databases)
- Stock prices and stock market (use databases & financial web sites)
- Comparison of companies within an industry (research "competitors")
- Company histories give insight into product development and corporate cultures (web sites, books, and articles)
TOP AGRIBUSINESS DATABASES For FINDING REPORTS, MARKET STUDIES, COMPANY INFORMATION, JOURNAL ARTICLES AND MORE:
Search for articles, books, course reserves, and more; all in one! Provides access to the majority of the library’s resources from a single entry point. OneSearch including the library's physical items and most of the library’s electronic content.
Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Indexes and abstracts international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. Organized into two bibliographic data sets: The NAL Online Public Access Catalog containing citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials; and the Article Citation Database including citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints.
Research about US markets in over 100 industries, and almost 750 NAICS codes, including descriptive data on over 8000 US companies and data and analysis for over 500 economic and demographic series.
Provides financial ratios, profit and loss benchmarks, and industry statistical reports at the granular level most useful to business planners, start-ups, sole proprietorships, small businesses, and local enterprise.
Provides verified financials, business data, news, and media on major private companies (defined as those which are unlisted on stock exchanges and/or family-owned.) For full access, create an account with your CSU Chico email address.
Business Source Premier
Full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select "Settings," click “Library Links” on left menu, type "CSU, Chico" in the box “Show library access links…” and click Find Library; check the box next to "CSU, Chico - SFX Find It @Chico;" and click the Save button.
Offers reports covering consumer goods, business & financial services, travel & leisure, food service, agriculture, manufacturing & construction, materials & chemicals, healthcare & diagnostics, biotechnology, e-commerce & information technology, and education & other public sectors. The reports come from varied publishers and contain balanced quantitative and qualitative analysis with competitive analysis, market trends, demographics, product innovation, buyer behavior and market share.
Company synopsis, history, financials, subsidiaries public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies. Financials can be exported directly into MS Excel.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Data about mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. It also in includes analyst reports, newsletters, screening tools, calculators and other educational resources.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico