The library catalog contains brief records for all CSUC theses (both print & online).
- To search for theses use Advanced Search and select Location: Theses before proceeding with your search.
- Our print theses (2009 and older) are shelved on the 2nd floor in the Theses Collection by call number.
- You can physically browse the 'LB' section of the Theses Collection for topics in Education.
- Newer theses (2009 - present) are in an online database and you can link to the digital full-text directly from the catalog record.
Theses/Dissertations from other Universities
Dissertations & Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
- This ProQuest database contains more than 2 million entries (most are full-text), and is considered to be the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
- If full-text is not available, you may use the citation to request via Interlibrary Services.
- SEARCH TIPS: Limit 'Manuscript Type' (1st page, under 'Search Options') to 'Master's Theses', 'Doctoral Dissertations', or select ALL for both before proceeding with keyword and/or subject search.
- Google Scholar (GS) is a free Google search engine specifically designed for locating scholarly information. Many dissertations & theses can now be found here.
- SEARCH TIPS: Adding the word 'thesis' as one of your search terms is often helpful when searching for theses in GS.
- FINDING FULL TEXT: Sometimes free full text is available (look for 'PDF' links in your results); often, however, only the citation is available in GS. When that's the case, use GS as a discovery tool and use the citation to request the item via Interlibrary Services.
- ACTIVATING 'FIND-IT @ CHICO' links: if you access GS via a link on our library website (this page, or any other) it automatically activates 'Find it @ Chico' links which will lead you directly to free-full text in our library (when available) and/or to our library's Interlibrary Services form (when it is not).
- Many dissertations, theses, and practicum papers are now available in full-text in ERIC.
- SEARCH TIPS: The easist way to search for them is to limit 'publication type' (dissertation/theses - master theses; dissertation/theses - practicum papers, etc.) and then search by keyword and/or descriptors. Limiters are found on 1st page under 'limit your results', as well as along the left side of your search results after an initial search.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
- The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization that, through leadership and innovation, promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico