|
General Background Information: Statistics and Encyclopedias
|
| Statistical Abstract of the United States – Hands down, this is the best source for statistics about the United States. See especially the section titled, “Law Enforcement, Courts and Prison.” |
Online and In the library:
HA 202 (Ready Reference) |
RAND California – BROWSE statistical categories. FIND statistics from California about a variety of issues including crime, poverty, education, voting, and population profiles.
|
Online |
CQ Researcher – An excellent source for information about current, controversial topics of national and international interest is areas such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. [more]
|
Online |
Public Agenda Online – Designed for journalists, this is one of the best websites for nonpartisan, unbiased perspectives on hot political issues. Find facts, public opinion polls, and three perspectives on each issue.
|
Online |
| International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences |
Online and in the library:
H 41 I58 2001 (Reference) |
|
Crime Generally and Specific Crimes
|
| The War on Drugs: An International Encyclopedia |
Online and In the library:
HV5804 .C47 1999 (Reference) |
| Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice |
In the library:
HV6017 .D38 2002 (Reference) |
| Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice |
In the library:
HV6017 E52 2002 (Reference) |
| Encyclopedia of Criminology & Deviant Behavior |
In the library:
HV6017 E53 2001 (Reference) |
| Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity |
In the library:
HV6322.7 .E532 2005 (Reference) |
| Terrorism, 1996-2001: A Chronology |
In the library:
HV6431 .M4992 2002 (Reference) |
| The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime |
In the library:
HV6441 .D48 2005 (Reference)
|
| Uniform Crime Reports - Includes Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted |
Online. |
| Atlas of Crime: Mapping the Criminal Landscape |
In the library:
HV6783 A85 2000 (Reference) |
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - Latest editions are online only.
|
Online and in the library:
HV7245 N37 (Ready Reference) |
|
Law Enforcement
|
| Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement |
In the library:
HV7921 E53 2005 (Reference) |
| Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences |
In the library:
HV8073 E58 2000 (Reference)
|
| Law Enforcement Career Starter |
In the library:
HV8143 H46 2001 (Reference) |
| The FBI: A Comprehensive Reference Guide |
In the library:
HV8144 F43 T48 1999 (Reference)
|
|
Punishment and Prisons
|
| Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment |
In the library:
HV8694 G76 1998 (Reference) |
| Encyclopedia of American Prisons |
In the library:
HV9471 .S54 2003 (Reference) |
