Link to ReSEARCH Station Home Link to the library catalog Link to page where you can find journal articles by subject link to the Research & Subject Guides browse all page Link to My Library Accounts Help -- Ask a Librarian
This is the "Home" page of the "Empirical Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Empirical Research   Tags: empirical research primary research studies study  

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2015 URL: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/empirical Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an empirical research study?

PowerPoint presentation on identifying characteristics of empirical research from the University of New Haven libraries.

 

What does empirical research mean?

The Criminal Justice Dictionary provides these definitions:

Empirical Research: Investigation or inquiry which is based on empirical facts. (pg. 71)

Empirical: Based upon facts gathered from observation, experience or experiment. (pg. 71)

Citation: Beckman, Erik. The Criminal Justice Dictionary. Ann Arbor: Pierian Press, Inc. 1983.

Searching Databases for Empirical Research

Empirical research articles are published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are easily found using databases that are specific to Criminal Justice or Psychology. Below are some of the most commonly used Criminal Justice Databases and hints for limiting your search to empirical research articles in peer-reviewed journals.

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
    Searchable abstracts and full-text journal articles, including peer reviewed scholarly articles covering all aspect of Criminal Justice.

    Hints to narrow down your results to locate a possible Empirical study:
    •Go to the "Advanced Search" page
    •Scroll down and select "peer reviewed" articles
    •Scroll down and under "Document Type" select "Article"
    •Enter your search terms or phrases in separate boxes
    •Optional: In a separate box, add the term "Study"
    •Hit search
  • PsychINFO  
      
    Searchable abstracts and full-text journals articles, including peer-reviewed scholarly articles in the field of psychology.

    To locate an Empirical Study:
    •Go to the "Advanced Search" page
    •Scroll down until you see the limiter "Methodology" on right side of page
    •Select "Empirical Study"
    •Scroll to the top and enter your search terms or phrases
  • Discovery/Search box library homepage  
      
    Search for "empirical research" (in quotes) or study in addition to your keywords.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Donna Greenberg
Contact Info
Meriam Library
Room 215
530.898.4338
Feel free to contact me with your research questions.
Send Email
 

meriam library | information resources | csu, chico

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip