Most Useful Databases for Public Health & Health Services Administration
When you find a citation for an article you want to read, look for a link to a PDF of the article, or use the FIND IT link. FIND IT will help you find out if you can access the article in another database, in print in the library or request through Interlibrary Services.
Search for articles, books, course reserves, and more; all in one! Provides access to the majority of the library’s resources from a single entry point. OneSearch including the library's physical items and most of the library’s electronic content.
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for bio-medical articles.
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PsycINFO is an index with abstracts to worldwide journal articles, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields.
SocINDEX with full text offers coverage from all sub-disciplines of sociology including criminology, criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, social psychology, sociological theory, violence, welfare.
Academic Search Premier provides full text articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, etc.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select "Settings," click “Library Links” on left menu, type "CSU, Chico" in the box “Show library access links…” and click Find Library; check the box next to "CSU, Chico - SFX Find It @Chico;" and click the Save button.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center): SEARCH for information on any aspect of education including pre-school, K-12, post-secondary. Contains over 800,000 references to all educational topics including health.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico