Food Science Research Guide

The USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference (SR) is the major source of food composition data in the United States and provides the foundation for most food composition databases in the public and private sectors.

FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (The BAM) is a collection of procedures preferred by analysts in U.S. Food and Drug Administration laboratories for the detection in food and cosmetic products of pathogens (bacterial, viral, parasitic, plus yeast and mold) and of microbial toxins.FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (The BAM) is a collection of procedures preferred by analysts in U.S. Food and Drug Administration laboratories for the detection in food and cosmetic products of pathogens (bacterial, viral, parasitic, plus yeast and mold) and of microbial toxins.

FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.

The reporting and documentation system for current research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Contains useful information on USDA grants.

Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical databases facilitate in-depth plant, chemical, bioactivity, and ethnobotany searches using scientific or common names. Search results can be downloaded in PDF or spreadsheet form. Of interest to pharmaceutical, nutritional, and biomedical research, as well as alternative therapies and herbal products.

The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.

The Atlas currently includes more than 280 indicators of the food environment. The year and geographic level of the indicators vary to better accommodate data from a variety of sources. Some indicators are at the county level while others are at the State or regional level. The most recent county-level data are used whenever possible.

FSIS is part of a national science-based system to ensure food safety and food defense. FSIS ensures food safety through the authorities of the Federal Meat Inspection Act, the Poultry Products Inspection Act, and the Egg Products Inspection Act; as well as humane animal handling through the Humane Methods of Slaughter Act.