Federal Policy Resources

Subject Guide

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

YOU Belong

Student Research Hours:
Thursdays 2-4 Appointments also available at other times.

Let's meet by Zoom or in person

Just send me an email with times that work for you.

530.898.6213

Subjects: Anthropology, Social Science & Special Programs, Social Work, Special Collections

About: This Guide

This guide is intended to serve as a general resource for Social Work 485; specifically legislative resources for this course.

A bill analysis is a summary of a bill written in layperson's terms. According to the Senate Rules, in order for a piece of legislation to be heard on the Senate floor, a bill must be accompanied by, among other items, a bill analysis (Senate Rule 7.12(b)(10)).

Congress.gov
From the Library of Congress- Search by phrase or bill number, or sponsor; includes daily updates, coverage from the 101th (1989) Congress to current Congress.
govinfo
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
more...less...
The official digital system of the Federal Government. Find all laws, bills, hearings, documents and more since 1993.

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
U.S. legislative information on members of Congress, voting records and publications including The Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Role Call. Legislative histories are available 1970-present; key votes in Congress 1987-present; committee reports 1990-present; bill text 1989-present.
Congressional Documents (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Over 100 million pages of federal history that is fully-searchable and image-based. The collection includes the Congressional Record (1873-2011), the Annals of Congress (1789-1821), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Federal Register (1936-2015), the Code of Federal Regulations (1938-2015), and the Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-1865).
Congressional Record (1873-2011) This link opens in a new window
The complete Congressional Record bound version and the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles, Annals of Congress (1789-1821), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873), as well as other important congressional material. The Congressional Record provides the daily verbatim of bills, debates, and votes from the floor of the house and senate.

SWRK 485 - Social Welfare Policy

Subject Guide

About: This Guide

Federal Policy Resources

Current Legislation