LibGuides: EOP 50th Anniversary Summer Bridge: EOP 50th Anniversary: Primary source research materials

EOP 50th Anniversary: Primary source research materials

1968- 1978 University Archives

The Educational Opportunity Program celebrates their 50th year supporting the academic aspirations of Californians in 2019. California State University, Chico played a leadership role in this progressive program. Your English professors have assigned the EOP Summer Bridge class of 2019 to collaborate in celebrating this anniversary. To complete your writing assignment, you'll need to review primary source research materials. In this research guide you will locate digital surrogates of primary source materials to help you craft this narrative.

UAC001 Public Affairs and Publications Records

UAC 001 Finding Aid for Public Affairs and Publication Records
Finding aid and box list for the Public Affairs and Publications Collection, which contains news releases, subject files, reports, photographs, publications, and records that pertain to the departments, events, and the promotion of California State University, Chico.
UAC 001 Box 46
SOME digital surrogates from UAC 001: Box 46, Student and Faculty Demonstrations 1968- 1972, 1995.
Folder 1 Papers and photographs, 1968
Folder 2 Student Strike Papers, November 1968- 1969.
UAC 001 Box 47
SOME digital surrogates from UAC 001: Box 47, Student and Demonstrations 1975- 1976.
Folder 3 "Guns Off Campus" 1975- 1976
Folder 8 Songs and Artwork, "Guns Off Campus," 1975- 1976.
UAC 001 Box 56: FOLDER 11
Digital surrogates of ALL the materials in the Education Opportunity Program folder, 1968- 1994.

Vertical Files and Published Materials on the Third Street Houses

University Archives- Vertical Files Language Houses
Digital surrogates of ephemeral materials opportunistically gathered about the historic CSUC Language Houses.
Initial Study & negative declaration: removal of six on-campus frame structures along Third Street
Environmental impact statement for the removal of the 3rd Street buildings, from 1983.
Inspection report: houses located on West 3rd Street, Chico, California
Digital copy of a historic building survey commissioned by CSUC to determine structural integrity of the south campus neighborhood, specifically West 3rd Street.

Chico Digital Collections

Chico State Yearbook- The Normal Record/ The Record
Digital surrogates of the CSU Chico yearbook, which was published from 1898- 1970; and again from 1977-1997.
Research Guide to The Normal Record/ The Record
A research guide dedicated to the Chico Digital Collection- The Record. Includes a timeline of publication dates and some noteworthy excerpts from the early years.
Chico Insurance Maps
Digital surrogates of Chico Fire Insurance Maps. Originally drawn to assess fire insurance liabilities for any property within city limits. The maps are hand-drawn lithographs which show street names, property boundaries, the shapes of structures, identifying what materials buildings are made of, building uses, buildings proximity to fire hydrants, and the location of water and gas mains. The maps for Chico run from 1885- 1949.
Insurance Map Collection Research Guide
A research guide dedicated to the Fire Insurance Map Collection. Includes a key for the map symbols and color coding.
Chico State Neighborhood Photographs
Series of photographs taken circa 1970s of buildings in the neighborhoods south of CSU Chico.

CSUC Multicultural Timeline

This interactive timeline was created from reviewing articles published in the Wildcat Newspaper, a student run publication.

OTHER online repositories

Other archival or primary source websites for your research...

Calisphere
A project of the University of California Libraries that provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration.
Online Archive of California
OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's records keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

EOP 50th Anniversary Summer Bridge

Equity and Outreach Librarian

Queztal-Kuhlthau

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

Conceptualizing, Finding, and Accessing primary source materials