Free Access to class textbooks, a partnership between the CSU Chico bookstore and publishers.
Due to increased online instruction as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many publishers and content providers have temporarily expanded access to online resources free of charge. Use this guide to take advantage of expanded access to online resources bestowed by publishers and content providers in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Browse, search, and access all of the library's online content in OneSearch and the databases page.
For the latest information about library services and operations, visit University Library COVID-19 Updates and Online Support.
Books and Textbooks
EBSCO has partnered with nearly 100 publishers
to upgrade the Library's already-owned ebooks to unlimited-user access, through June 30.
Provides students and faculty access to textbooks and other coursebooks during COVID-19.
GALE IN CONTEXT: College
Includes interdisciplinary, curriculum-aligned resources; live and on-demand training materials; professional development ebooks; and resources on health-related topics and global issues.
National Emergency Library
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Project MUSE is working with university press publishers
to make their content open during the crisis.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers
to upgrade the Library's already-owned ebooks to unlimited-user access, through mid-June.
Chico State students, staff, and faculty now have access to 256 ScienceDirect textbooks
University of Michigan Press
To support remote teaching and research during the COVID-19 global health event, titles in this collection are free-to-read until June 30, 2020.
Journals and Databases
American History (Adam Mathew)
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
American Indian Histories and Cultures (Adam Matthew)
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
Colonial America (Adam Matthew)
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Background information to start your research. Sources for all disciplines.
Literary Print Culture (Adam Matthew)
The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.
An online U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, income, education, health, jobs and more. Use PolicyMap as a single point of entry to evaluate trends, access benchmarks, and strategically target interventions designed to improve health outcomes.
Race Relations in America (Adam Matthew)
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
World Scientific Publishing
ALL World Scientific journal content published from 2001. This takes effect from now, until June 30, 2020.
JoVE STEM Videos
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. Content is free through June 15, 2020. Registration required. Access to be set up March 26, 2020
Films On Demand
A majority of the films are now available. Search by keyword or subject.
Click "Academic Video Online" to access Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Interlibrary Services Borrowing
Interlibrary Services Borrowing is working remotely and can STILL provide articles and book chapters from electronic holdings. This department is part of a large consortium of academic and public libraries across the U.S. who are also ALL working remotely. They can access their electronic holdings. Submit those kinds of requests as you normally have done through our ILS system.
Login to create a request for items that are not available through the Meriam Library.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico