LibGuides: Multicultural and Gender Studies (MCGS): Home

Most Useful Databases for Multicultural & Gender Studies

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
provides over 66,000 videos curated for the educational experience and spanning wide of variety of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day as recorded by the news media. Easy to use and updated daily, this resource supports discussions around race, equity, diversity, and social justice.
Ethnic Diversity Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
465 active full-text journals, magazines and newspapers, many of which are peer-reviewed and non-open access. EDS provides access to 4,500+ ebooks, 2,000+ full-text biographies, over 6,300 primary source documents, and various other resources including historical documents and hundreds of curated videos from the Associated Press.

Also includes eBook Subscription Diversity & Ethnic Studies
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts professional, scholarly social work journal articles.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides some full text of journals in all sub-disciplines of sociology. Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.

OTHER Useful Databases for MCGS

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Educational Resources Information Center) An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Contains broad information on individual countries. In addition to the usual demographic, economic, geography and government information, it also includes detailed information on business culture, greetings and courtesies, superstitions, stereotypes and much, much more.
Google Scholar (with Meriam Library access links) This link opens in a new window
By accessing Google Scholar via the link above, your search results will include “Find it @ Chico” links to articles when full text of the resource is available.

Journals

Journal of critical thought & praxis
The Journal of Critical Thought and Praxis is a peer-reviewed online journal that provides a space for emerging scholars, educators, and activists to engage in critical and progressive inter/transdisciplinary scholarship and dialogue that supports awareness of social justice issues and challenges individuals to move towards advocacy and concrete engagement with social justice movements. JCTP is also committed to providing all authors with developmental feedback that helps clarify, sharpen, and communicate ideas and arguments in a manner accessible to a broad social justice community.
The international journal of critical pedagogy
The International Journal of Critical Pedagogy is committed to publishing original articles that propose innovative understandings and applications of critical pedagogy. The journal covers a wide range of perspectives in areas such as: Diversity, popular culture, media literacy, critical praxis, experimental methodologies.
Understanding and Dismantling Privilege
UDP journal is a project of the annual White Privilege Conference, a program of the Matrix Center for the Advancement of Social Equity and Inclusion at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.
International Journal of Multicultural Education
Committed to promoting educational equity for all, cross-cultural understanding, and global awareness in all levels of education including leadership and policies, IJME publishes (1) reports of empirical research typically in qualitative research orientation (some special issues may publish quantitative studies); (2) literature-based conceptual articles that advance theories and scholarship of multicultural education; and (3) praxis articles that discuss successful multicultural education practices grounded on sound theories. We accept submissions of high quality from the global community.
Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity
The Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity (JCSCORE) is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal launched in 2015 by the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity in American Higher Education (NCORE), a production of the Southwest Center for Human Relations Studies at the University of Oklahoma Outreach. JCSCORE promotes an exchange of ideas that can transform lives, enhance learning, and improve human relations in higher education. It explores and examines interactions from interdisciplinary perspectives and reports on the status, needs, and direction of human relations studies affected by race, ethnicity and sovereignty in higher education policy, practice, and theory. JCSCORE accepts manuscripts on a rolling basis.

Articles & Databases

Common Topics within Social Science

This list, originally compiled by San Jose State University librarian Kathryn Blackmer-Reyes, includes common topics within social science. These make useful keywords when searching our databases. One way to help create your topic or research inquiry is to choose an approach from the first column and link it to one or two topics in the remaining columns.

Approaches	Topics
An analysis of...	Abortion	Gang violence	Racial profiling
A comparison between...	Affirmative action	Gay rights	Racism
The consequences of...	Age discrimination	Genetically modified food	Rape
The effectiveness of....	Addiction and substance abuse	Gentrification	Retail profiling
The efficacy of....	Animal rights	Global warming	Recycling and conservation
The impact of....	Birth control	Gun control	Right to work
Findings from....	Bulimia nervosa/Anorexia nervosa	Gun rights	Same-sex marriage
The relationship between...	Bullying	Hate crimes	Sex trade
A review of....	Campus crime	Hazing	Sexism
	Capital punishment/Death penalty	Health care	Sexual harassment
	Child abuse	Home foreclosures	Shopping while black
	Child labor	Human trafficking	Single parenting
	Classism	Hunger	Social media and privacy
	Climate change	Immigration/immigrants	Spousal abuse/Intimate partner abuse
	Cloning	Illiteracy	Steroid use in sports
	Corporal punishment	Legalization of marijuana	Suicide
	Cyber bullying	Mass murder	Sweat shops
	Date rape	Mental health	Teen pregnancy
	Debt	Minimum wage	Terrorism
	Disaster relief	Obesity	Unemployment
	Domestic violence	Opiods	Union busting
	Driving while black	Outsourcing jobs	Vigilantism
	Eating disorders	Police brutality	Violence in schools
	Education/Charter schools	Pollution	Voter disenfranchisement
	Environmental pollution	Population growth	Voting rights restrictions
	Environmental racism	Pornography	War
	Equal pay	Poverty	Workplace violence
	Euthanasia/Mercy killing/Assisted suicide	Prayer in school
	Excessive force by law enforcement	Prisons/Sentencing
	Felony disenfranchisement	Prostitution

SAGE HUBS

SAGE HUB: Gender Equity and Justice
This collection explores themes of gender oppression and inequity and examines the unjust systems that stifle equality.
SAGE HUB: Legacies of Colonialism
Through research of identity oppression, education, sociology, health, environment, economy, and religion and spirituality these authors explore the legacies of colonialism, its ongoing effects, and decolonizing and uprooting colonialism.
SAGE HUB: LGBTQIA+
This collection of freely available research, videos, and books takes a look at queer theory, gender identity, queer justice, hegemonic heterosexuality, sexual orientation, and more.
SAGE HUB: Structural Racism and Police Violence
This collection shares freely accessible articles to support researchers in future scholarship and amplify their critical work; educators as they discuss the impacts of systemic racism with students; and policymakers and advocates in their fight to make sweeping reform.