Communication Studies

One Search

The Meriam Library's One Search service allows users to search almost all of the databases available to users simultaneously. You'll find One Search on the Library's homepage.

Specific Databases

Some users may find it advantageous to search for articles in a database that is specific to communication studies, or includes an easily accessible subset of relevant content. This allows them to avoid irrelevant search results that can occur in a more comprehensive search service such as One Search.

Communication & Mass Media Complete -- Indexing and abstracts for more than 600 journals and full text for over 500 journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and communicative disorders.

MLA International Bibliography -- Provides access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, communication, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world — Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Project Muse -- Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

PsycINFO -- Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.

Browsing Communication Journals

You can browse all of the communication research journals to which the Library has access by following these steps:

  1. Go to One Search on the Library's homepage.
  2. Select "Advanced Search" -- it appears underneath the One Search search prompt.
  3. Once at the advanced search screen, select "Books @ Chico"; then select "Subject" in the pull-down menu; then enter "communication periodicals" in the search prompt and click the search button.
  4. This will display all of our communication research journals. 

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico