Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Sciences and Disorders

One Search

The Meriam Library's One Search service allows users to search almost all of the databases available to users simultaneously. You'll find One Search on the Library's homepage.

Specific Databases

Communication Source -- Indexing and abstracts for more than 600 journals and full text for over 500 journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and communicative disorders.

ERIC -- Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.

CINAHL -- Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

PsycINFO -- Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.

PubMed -- Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts -- Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax. semantics and speech-language pathology. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Browsing Communication Sciences & Disorders Journals

You can browse all of the communication sciences and disorders research journals to which the Library has access by following these steps:

  1. Go to One Search on the Library's homepage.
  2. Select "Advanced Search" -- it appears underneath the One Search search prompt.
  3. Once at the advanced search screen, select "Books @ Chico"; then select "Subject" in the pull-down menu; then enter "speech disorders periodicals" in the search prompt and click the search button.
  4. This will display a list of all of our speech disorders research journals. 
  5. By substituting other relevant subject indexing terms in the subject field of the advanced search screen, you can find other communication sciences and disorders journals. Examples of other relevant subject terms are "language disorders periodicals", "speech therapy periodicals", "audiology periodicals", etc.

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico