Search for articles, books, course reserves, and more; all in one! Provides access to the majority of the library’s resources from a single entry point. OneSearch including the library's physical items and most of the library’s electronic content.
TOP 5 NURSING DATABASES For Finding JOURNAL ARTICLES AND MORE:
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Six evidence-based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO
Abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Other Valuable Databases
Biological Abstracts Web of Science
Biological Abstracts 1926-present, indexes journals covering life science topics that range from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. In addition to searching for articles on your topic, you can use Biological Abstracts to find cited references, determine impact factor and much more. Full text may be available via the "Find It" link.
ERIC contains articles, many full-text, along with citations and abstracts for education research. Search for information on any aspect of education
Educational Resources Information Center. Find abstracts for journal articles, conference papers, teacher developed materials and more. Some full-text. An EBSCO database.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select "Settings," click “Library Links” on left menu, type "CSU, Chico" in the box “Show library access links…” and click Find Library; check the box next to "CSU, Chico - SFX Find It @Chico;" and click the Save button.
Nursing Education in Video
Videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Fulll text of approximately 168 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, humanities, social sciences, mathematics, and law.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
SAGE Journals Online
Over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.
Social Work Abstracts
Provides indexing & abstracts dealing with all aspects of social work, including theory & practice, areas of service & social issues & problems. Social Work Abstracts offers coverage of more than 450 social work & human services journals back to 1965. An EBSCO database.
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library
Full text of over 1,200 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Journal and Search Alerts
Some databases will let you save and subscribe to a search. Some of these include:
- PubMed - run a search. Once you are on the results page, click the RSS icon under the search box and set your preferences for your new PubMed RSS feed.
Nursing Journal Impact Factors
The journal impact factor measures the importance of a journal by calculating the times it's articles are cited.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico