Languages and Cultures: Latin American Studies LAST

Most useful Databases for Latin American Studies

• Academic Search
• JSTOR
• Ethnic Newswatch
• Chicano Database 
• Hispanic Life in America 

Open Access Databases

• RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe  A collection of over 1200 open access scholarly journals covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by more than 500 institutions in 22 Ibero-American countries. (Red ALyC) [1993-]. Developed by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México. All journals from Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) are now aggregated through and included in RedALYC.
• SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online A collection of over 1200 open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities to meet the communication needs of researchers in the Global South, particularly those in Latin America and the Caribbean. [dates vary]. Journals from Portugal, Spain, and South Africa are also included. The SciELO project is an initiative of the Foundation for Support to Research of the State of São Paulo, Brazil (FAPESP) and the Latin American and Caribbean Center for Information on Health Sciences (BIREME).
• Biblioteca Digital de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana The Biblioteca Digital de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana is a digital library compiling information on traditional Mexican medicine, including medicinal plants, practices of indigenous peoples, and testimonies from traditional healers. "Biblioteca Digital de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana includes following distinct components: Diccionario Enciclopédico de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana, La Medicina Tradicional de los Pueblos Indígenas de México, Atlas de las Plantas de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana, and Flora Medicinal Indígena de México"
• Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) Established by the Benson Latin American Collection and the Lorenzo Long Institute of Latin American Studies at UT Austin, the Latin American Network Information Center is a large collection of online information of and from Latin America.
• Latin American Periodicals Table of Contents Tables of contents of journals (primarily in the social sciences and humanities) published in Latin America and the Caribbean between 1994 and 2009. [dates vary]. Provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. Search by keyword, article titles, author or journal or browse by country.
• Dialnet  Articles, conference papers, book chapters, dissertations and other documents in the social sciences and the humanities published mostly in Spain and to a lesser extent in Latin America. [2001 - present]. Lists almost 1.4 million articles in over 4,000 mostly Spanish journals and magazines, and thousands of books and dissertations. Subjects covered include primarily the sciences and technology, but also the social sciences, humanities, education, business, and law. Open-access database created by a group of Spanish universities under the leadership of the Universidad de la Rioja, Logrono, Spain. Free article-alert service for registered users. 

• Relaciones MEX-USA Database of materials about Mexico-US relations

• Latindex An online database of scientific journals of and from Latin America.

• Repositório Institucional UNESP (UNESP Institutional Repository) A database of Open Access materials from the Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP). Here, you can find articles, books, and dissertations from faculty and students of UNESP. 
• Latin American and Caribbean Periodicals. A collection of historical newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean, including La Lucha and Kwong Wah Po.

To begin searching for articles for your research, go to the library homepage and use the OneSearch search box to begin. This tab will allow you to search for articles, books, e-resources, and more, at both CSU, Chico and throughout the CSU system.