LibGuides: AAST 152 Introductions to Asian American Experience: Articles, Peer-Reviewed Journals, Databases

Peer-reviewed Journals focused on the Asian American Experience

AAPI nexus
Published by UCLA’s Asian American Studies Center Press, AAPI Nexus is a national journal focusing on policies, practices and community research to benefit the nation’s burgeoning Asian American and Pacific Islander communities. AAPI Nexus draws from professional schools and applied social science scholars as well as practitioners and public policy advocates with the goal of reinvigorating Asian American Studies’ mission of serving communities and generating practical research.
more...less...
Full Text Availability through EBSCO Ethnic Diversity Source Database
Alon : journal for Filipinx American and diasporic studies
The mission of Alon is to provide an on-line forum for publishing original and refereed essays, artwork, reviews, and moderated reflections that productively and critically engage with Filipinx American and Filipinx Diasporic Studies.
more...less...
Through Alon, we aim to generate and showcase works that positively engage with and critically analyze key questions in the production of knowledges regarding Filipinx Americans and Filipinx diasporic subjects: how are Filipinx bodies represented across multiple forms of media and in what ways do Filipinx people cultivate and create identities and subjectivities to counter these representations? What are the experiences of Filipinx migrants and what about these experiences shed light on the nature of global racial capitalism? How do they imagine and organize toward non-extractive, sustainable futures? How do Filipinx people construct an alternative global archipelago of being and belonging? How are these fields’ particular theoretical and methodological approaches rooted in scholarly production and activism? How are these projects linked with attempts to trace interracial solidarites, as fraught as they may be, to disrupt racial capitalism’s impulse to both homogenize and propagate “multicultural” difference? These and other related questions drive the work behind and in front of Alon.
Amerasia journal
Since 1971, the Center Press has published Amerasia Journal, the leading interdisciplinary journal in Asian American Studies. Amerasia Journal has played an indispensable role in establishing Asian American Studies as a viable and relevant field of scholarship, teaching, community service, and public discourse. Amerasia Journal, according to founding publisher Don T. Nakanishi, "has benefited from and reflected a wide array of profound social changes that have occurred among Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders - be it their unprecedented growth and diversification, or their ever-increasing levels of access, representation, and achievement in American society's institutions and sectors that had long excluded, marginalized, or demonized them."
more...less...
A joint quarterly publication of the UCLA Asian American Studies Center and the Yale Asian American Students Association. Full Text Available through Taylor & Francis Journals.
Asian American journal of psychology
The Asian American Journal of Psychology is the official publication of the Asian American Psychological Association and is dedicated to research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy within Asian American psychology. The Journal publishes empirical, theoretical, methodological, and practice oriented articles and book reviews covering topics relevant to Asian American individuals and communities, including prevention, intervention, training, and social justice. Particular consideration is given to empirical articles using quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodology. The AAJP's Mission Statement reflects the mission of the Association, which is to advance the psychological well-being of Asian American communities through affecting professional practice, research, and teaching.
Asian American law journal
The Asian American Law Journal (AALJ) is one of only two law journals in the United States focusing on Asian American communities in its publication agenda. Known as the Asian Law Journal until 2007, AALJ was first published in October 1993 in a joint publication with the California Law Review. AALJ's first independent issue was published in May 1994.
more...less...
Full Text Available through WestlawNext Campus Research Law + News + Business
Asian American literary review
The Asian American Literary Review (AALR) is a not-for-profit literary arts organization, a place for all those who consider the designation “Asian American” a fruitful starting point for artistic vision and community.
Asian American literature discourse & pedagogies
Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies focuses on the production, collection, and distribution of accessible high quality research on Asian American Literature for students, teachers, and the general public, hosted by San Jose State University.
Asian American policy review
Founded in 1989, the Asian American Policy Review is the first nonpartisan academic journal in the country dedicated to analyzing public policy issues facing the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community.
more...less...
Full Text Available through EBSCO, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Freely Available Social Science Journals.
Asian Pacific American law journal
The Asian Pacific American Law Journal (APALJ) focuses exclusively on the legal, social, and political issues affecting Asian Pacific American communities. APALJ plays an important role by providing a forum for legal scholars, practitioners, and students to communicate about emerging concerns and by disseminating these writings to the general population.
Chinese America, history and perspectives
Chinese America: History & Perspectives- The Journal of the Chinese Historical Society of America is published annually by CHSA. The journal invites original contributions on all aspects of Chinese American history and culture.
Critical Asian studies
Critical Asian Studies (formerly the Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars) is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal that welcomes submissions about all areas of Asia and the Pacific, particularly those that challenge the accepted formulas for understanding these regions, the world, and ourselves.
Journal of Asian American studies
Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews. As a much-needed outlet for the increasing volume of scholarship in the field, JAAS provides an avenue for a quick and lively exchange of ideas. Journal of Asian American Studies is the official publication of the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS).
more...less...
Full Text Availability through three databases, EBSCO Ethnic Diversity Source, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Project Muse Standard Collection.
Journal of intercultural disciplines
The Journal of Intercultural Disciplines is the official publication of the National Association of African American Studies and Affiliates: the National Association of Hispanic and Latino Studies, the National Association of Native American Studies, and the International Association of Asian Studies.
Journal of Southeast Asian American education & advancement
The Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement is an on-line and free open access interdisciplinary journal providing a forum for scholars and writers from diverse fields who share a common interest in Southeast Asian (SEA) Americans and their communities. JSAAEA is published with support from the Department of Curriculum and Instruction and the College of Education at Purdue University, and Purdue Libraries Scholarly Publishing Services and Purdue University Press.
Verge : studies in global Asias
Verge: Studies in Global Asias is an award-winning journal that showcases scholarship on “Asian” topics from across the humanities and humanistic social sciences, while recognizing that the changing scope of “Asia” as a concept and method is today an object of vital critical concern.
more...less...
Full Text Availability through JSTOR.

Useful Databases for Multicultural & Gender Studies

When you find a citation for an article you want to read look for a link to a PDF of the article, or use the FIND IT link. FIND IT will help you find out if you can access the article in another database or in print in the library.

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
provides over 66,000 videos curated for the educational experience and spanning wide of variety of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day as recorded by the news media. Easy to use and updated daily, this resource supports discussions around race, equity, diversity, and social justice.
Ethnic Diversity Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
465 active full-text journals, magazines and newspapers, many of which are peer-reviewed and non-open access. EDS provides access to 4,500+ ebooks, 2,000+ full-text biographies, over 6,300 primary source documents, and various other resources including historical documents and hundreds of curated videos from the Associated Press.

Also includes eBook Subscription Diversity & Ethnic Studies
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts professional, scholarly social work journal articles.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides some full text of journals in all sub-disciplines of sociology. Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.

More Useful Databases for MCGS

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Educational Resources Information Center) An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Contains broad information on individual countries. In addition to the usual demographic, economic, geography and government information, it also includes detailed information on business culture, greetings and courtesies, superstitions, stereotypes and much, much more.
Google Scholar (with Meriam Library access links) This link opens in a new window
By accessing Google Scholar via the link above, your search results will include “Find it @ Chico” links to articles when full text of the resource is available.

AAST 152 Introductions to Asian American Experience: Articles, Peer-Reviewed Journals, Databases

Finding Articles

Peer-reviewed Journals focused on the Asian American Experience

Useful Databases for Multicultural & Gender Studies

More Useful Databases for MCGS