How to Find Books and Articles - MGMT 303 - Survey of Management

OneSearch

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Find articles, books, course reserves, and more --- all from a single entry point. OneSearch includes the library's physical items and most of the library’s electronic content.

Find Articles

GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and some full text to articles and documents focused on the relationship between human beings and the environment.

Databases contain articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, and newspapers. For full-text, click on the FIND IT button if it is not included in the database you are searching.

Business Source Premier
Scholarly and trade journals and business magazines. Most full-text, including Harvard Business Review.
ABI / Inform
Scholary and trade journals, business magazines, dissertations, mostly full-text.
Emerald
Publisher's collection of full-text management journals
Science Direct
Full-text journals on management, energy, environmental science, etc.
Wiley Online Library
Full-text management journals

Characteristics of Scholarly Articles

Lists cited references in bibliographies and footnotes
Are written by an authority or expert in the field whose credentials are prominently stated
Includes data derived from research with tables, graphs, and diagrams
The language includes specialized terms and the jargon of the discipline
Lengthy articles between 7-20 or more pages
Contain original research, experimentation, theory, or in-depth studies in the field
Advertising is minimal or non-existent (if you are looking at the print or PDF version)

Download What Is A Scholarly Article handout here for more characteristics and examples.