Call Number Guide
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION
Class M Music
M Music
ML Literature on Music
MT Instruction and Study
Interlibrary Services
Interlibrary Services (ILS) is available to request books, articles, and other items. Often the ILS link is provided directly in the database and is the easiest way to submit a request. Follow the "FIND IT" link and click the link Request your item through Interlibrary Services.
To use the system, you must first set up an account. To directly logon go to Interlibrary Services
Databases
Databases are available to search on your topic. Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article. If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.
- Academic SearchProvides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Has a multidisciplinary focus but a strong representation of social science journals.
- JSTORScholarly articles from some of the top political science journals. Full-text articles provided. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
- Music IndexMusic Index is a comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
- Project MuseProject MUSE offers access to the full text of scholarly articles from over 100 online journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history,music, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Digital Resources for Music
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online (comprising the full text of The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed., The new Grove dictionary of opera, and The new Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd ed.), The Oxford companion to music, and The Oxford dictionary of music. Covers all aspects of music, including composers, performers, terminology, instruments and their history, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions.
- Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is a multi-label database of classical music recordings for listening and learning. It includes vocal and choral music, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Included with the recordings are identifying and reference information. The database includes more than 50,000 recordings from 30 different labels, and more than 1800 composers, 900 conductors, 5,000 artists and 1,200 ensembles.
Search Tips
Brainstorm synonyms for your concept. Different databases use different words for the same concept. Searching for alternative words improves your chances of success.
Modify your searches based on your results. If you find articles that reflect your interests, redo your search using words that appear in the title, subject headings, abstract, or full text of that article.
Use the asterisk (*) to find various word endings. (i.e., democrat* finds democrat, democrats, or democratic)
Use the Boolean search operators: and, or, not, near.
AND Reduces the number of search results by requiring more than one term to appear in the same article. (i.e., democrat and obama and campaign)
OR Expands the number of search results by expanding the possible matches to include either one or the other term. (i.e., money or financ*)
NOT Reduces search results to omit references to articles with certain words that have nothing to do with your topic. (i.e., planning not wedding)
NEAR Reduces the search results by requiring two words to appear near one another in the articles. (i.e., political near part*)
Put it all together to make a sophisticated search:
(political near part*) and campaign* and (money or financ*)
Humanities Librarian |
George H. Thompson Contact Info California State University, Chico Meriam Library office: MLIB 305 530.898.6603 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
