Link to ReSEARCH Station Home Link to the library catalog Link to page where you can find journal articles by subject link to the Research & Subject Guides browse all page Link to My Library Accounts Help -- Ask a Librarian
FootnotesEndnotesBibliography
Sound recordingsVideo recordingsOnline videoPodcasts
Scholarly articlesNon-scholarly articles
This is the "Books" page of the "Citing Sources -- Chicago -- Bibliography style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Sources -- Chicago -- Bibliography style  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2012 URL: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/citingsources-chicago-bibliography-style Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Footnotes / endnotes for books

Here are explanations on how the elements of footnote and endnote citations are put together.


Book, one author:
1. Wendell Berry, The Gift of Good Land (San Francisco: Northpoint, 1981), 34.

Book, two to three authors:
2. Robert Lynd and Helen Lynd, Middletown: A Study in American Culture (New York: Harcourt, Brace and World, 1929), 67-70.

Book, four or more authors:
3. Jacquelyn Dowd Hall et al., Like a Family: The Making of a Southern Cotton Mill World (Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1987), 148.

  • If a book has four or more authors, the words "et al." replace all authors names except that of the first author.

Book with editor:
4. Adelaida R. Del Castillo, ed., Between Borders: Essays on Mexicana/Chicana History (Encino, CA: Floricanto, 1990), 334.

Chapter or other part of the book: 
5. Mary Higdon Beech, "The Domestic Realm in the Lives of Hindu Women in Calcutta," in Separate Worlds: Studies of Purdah in South Asia,
     ed. Hanna Papanek and Gail Minault (Delhi, India: Chanakya, 1982),
112.

If you use a source more than once, provide a full citation first and subsequent references can be :
6. Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 52.
7. Ward and Burns, War, 59–61.

E-books
To see examples of Footnotes and endnotes for e-books, click here

 

Bibliography for books

Here is explanation of how the elements of bibliography citations are put together.


Book, one author:
Berry, Wendell. The Gift of Good Land. San Francisco: Northpoint, 1981.

Book, two to three authors:
Lynd, Robert and Helen Lynd. Middletown: A Study in American Culture. New York: Harcourt, Brace and World, 1929.

Book, four or more authors:
Hall, Jacquelyn Dowd, James Leloudis, Robert Korstad, Mary Murphy, Lu Ann Jones, and Christopher B. Daly. Like a Family: The Making of a
     Southern Cotton Mill World
. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1987.

  • Unlike in the footnote or endnote, all author names are written in the bibliography.

Book with editor:
Del Castillo, Adelaida R., ed. Between Borders: Essays on Mexicana/Chicana History. Encino, CA: Floricanto, 1990.

Chapter in a book:
Higdon Beech, Mary. "The Domestic Realm in the Lives of Hindu Women in Calcutta." In Separate Worlds: Studies of Purdah in South Asia,
     edited by Hanna Papanek and Gail Minault,
110-38. Delhi, India: Chanakya, 1982.

  • When citing an individual chapter (including instances when you cite a direct quote from the chapter), put the page numbers of the whole chapter after the book title or editor.

E-books
To see examples of bibliography entries for e-books, click here

    meriam library | information resources | csu, chico

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip