Citing Sources

• AAA (American Anthropological Association) Publishing Style Guide 

   

  Provides basic examples for AAA in-text citations, as well as for bibliographies.
• ACS (American Chemical Society) Style Guide, 3rd Ed., 2006 

   
• AMA (American Medical Association) Manual of Style, 10th ed. 

   

  A must for anyone seeking to publish research findings in medical or scientific publications. Print only.
• Associated Press: Stylebook and briefing on media law, 46th ed., 2011 

   

  Available in print only. AKA, The Journalist's "Bible".
• CSE Style (Council of Science Editors) 

   

  Provides thorough examples for CSE in-text citations, as well as for CSE Reference Lists (from Diana Hacker).
• IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Reference Guide, 2018 ed. 

   

  Full-text online.
• National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation 

   

  Full-text online. Supplement for Internet sources, ed. 2001.
• American Society for Horticultural Sciences 

   
• Introduction to Basic Legal Citation 

   

  Thorough guide on how to cite legal materials (from Cornell)
• Government Documents 

   

  A bibliography with links to information on how to cite government documents. (from Columbia University Libraries)

Multiple copies may be held on reserve at the Circulation/Reserve desk and older copies may be held in the Main Collection. Check the Library Catalog for details.

• American Medical Association Manual of Style: a guide for authors & editors.
  Iverson, Cheryl, 9th ed., 1998.
  R 119 .A533 Ref

• Broadcast News Writing Stylebook (journalistic style).
  Papper, Robert A., 2nd ed., 2000.
  QE 475 A2 I58 Main

• The Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation (legal citations).
  Harvard Law Review Association, 17th ed., 2000.
  KF 245 B58 Ref

• Chicago Manual of Style University of Chicago Press, 15th ed., 2003.
  Z 253 .U69 Ready Ref

• Form and Style: Research Papers, Reports, Theses.
  Slade, Carole, 11th ed., 2000.
  LB 2369. C3 Main

• Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations.
  Turabian, Kate L., 7th ed., 2007.
  LB 2369 .T8 Ready Ref

• MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
  Gibaldi, Joseph, 7th ed., 2009.
  LB 2369 .G53 Ready Ref

• MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.
  Gibaldi, Joseph, 3rd ed., 2008.
  PN 147 .G4444 Ready Ref

• A Pocket Style Manual.
  Hacker, Diana, 2nd ed., 1997.
  PE 1408 .H26 Ref

• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
  American Psychological Association, 6th ed., 2010.
  BF 76.7 .P83 Ready Ref

• Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers.
  Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors, 2006.
  T11 .S386 Ref
• This list as a PDF