Public History Resources - HIST 492 & 494 - Archival Research Seminar/ Introduction to Public History

Using Archives and Primary Sources

Email Me

Contact:

Meriam Llibrary 305
California State University, Chico
Chico, CA 95929-0205

530.898.6603

Subjects: International Languages, Literatures, & Culture, Special Collections

Researching the History of Butte County (book list)
Published materials. Links to Meriam Library Catalog record and Ebook if available.

Butte County Directories Collection Guide
Online copies of directories from both our collection and the Butte County Library, Chico Branch.
Manuscript Collections Guide
Chico Digital Collections
Photos, documents and maps.
Diggins, Butte County Historical Society, Table of Contents
Historical Map Collection of CSU Chico
All scanned maps can be found in the Meriam Library Catalog. We are in the process of moving digital copies to this collection. Check back for additions.
Fire Insurance Map Collection Guide
Guide to maps available in Chico Digital Collection

Sanborn Map, Index California Maps with Chico, Reel #47-X
Table of contents from microfilm roll
1884, 1886, 1890, 1902, 1909, 1921/49
Call number: G4363 B8 C255 1990 (N.E. Cal)

City of Chico New House Numbers
Article from Enterprise Record November 4, 1937, regarding address changes

Guide to Butte County Records in Special Collections, Meriam Library
This guide format is based on the California State Archives document below.
It has links to Coroner's Inquests and Probate Indexes.

Butte County Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full page images of all available Butte County newspapers, 1851 – 1922. The collection includes digital reproductions from microfilm providing access to every page from every available issue. Some limited text searching is also available.