Search for articles, books, course reserves, and more; all in one! Provides access to the majority of the library’s resources from a single entry point. OneSearch including the library's physical items and most of the library’s electronic content.
Biological Abstracts Web of Science
Biological Abstracts 1926-present, indexes journals covering life science topics that range from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. In addition to searching for articles on your topic, you can use Biological Abstracts to find cited references, determine impact factor and much more. Full text may be available via the "Find It" link.
Abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. Organized into two bibliographic data sets: The NAL Online Public Access Catalog containing citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials; and the Article Citation Database including citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints.
American Chemical Society
Forty journals published by the American Chemical Society.
NCBI Taxonomy Database
The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Rarely will you know the best terms or keywords to plug into a database. Choosing the best keywords is a process of trial and error. For scientific research you will want to be specific. Look at the results list from a database search to help you locate the best search terms. In the detailed record there will often be lists of subject terms, author-supplied keywords, MeSH terms (Medical Subject headings) etc. that will lead you to the best search terms. Below is an example from the PubMed database:
Make full use of limiters and tools. Each database is different but in general they will all have some variation of the following limiters and tools. For more results make sure Full Text is not selected. For fewer results limit the Publication Date.
You can usually email yourself a copy of the record, save full text articles, send yourself the permanent link and/or use the citation provided by the database. Make sure to double check the citation as they are computer generated and may have mistakes.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico