Database Tips and Tools
Make full use of limiters and tools. Each database is different but in general they will all have some variation of the following limiters and tools. For more results make sure Fast Full Text is not selected. If Full Text is not selected you may need to use Interlibrary Services. Update the year for more current research.
Many databases have the above tools. You can usually email yourself a copy of the article or record, save full text articles, send yourself the permanent link and/or use the citation provided by the database. Make sure to double check the citation as they are computer generated and may have mistakes.
Articles and Databases
For discipline specific research you may want to choose one of the more focused databases such as Literature Online (LiOn), or America: History and Life. For further information about each database click on the blue i icon.
Literature Online Fulltext (LiOn) This link opens in a new window
This is the best database to find literary criticism. LiON contains over 350,000 fully-searchable works of poetry, prose and drama. Also included are author biographies, guides to more than 200 classic and contemporary literary works from Aeschylus to Toni Morrison, and poets on screen -- a multimedia collection of major poets reading and interpreting their own works.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources combines several databases into one comprehensive literature database. Contemporary Authors provides biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 authors. The “largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available,” Literature Criticism Online, includes Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Database contains citations and abstracts. You may need to limit for full text or find full text elsewhere. America, History and Life (AHL) is a database of bibliographic citations and article abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to present. It cites articles that were published in 1964 or later and that come from more than 2,000 journals published in more than 40 languages. Paper indexes, 1954-1993 are also available in Meriam Library's Index Collection (second floor)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico