Articles & Databases - NFSC 345 - Dietary Supplements & Functional Foods

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly Journals and Articles

Find Articles

Databases contain articles from scholarly and trade journals, magazines, and newspapers. For full-text, click on the "Find It" button if it is not included in the database you are searching.

PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to create this Dietary Supplement Subset of NLM’s PubMed. PubMed provides access to citations from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is an information source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts international research and development literature in the fields of Agriculture, Animal health, Forestry, Human health, Human nutrition, and Management and conservation of natural resources
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Six evidence-based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Google Scholar (with Meriam Library access links) This link opens in a new window
By accessing Google Scholar via the link above, your search results will include “Find it @ Chico” links to articles when full text of the resource is available.