Brainstorm synonyms for your concept. If your search is unsuccessful, try using synonyms of your keywords.
Use the asterisk ( * ) to find various word endings Searching forchild* finds: - child - childhood - children - child's
Use quotation marks for "phrase searching" - "foster youth" - "second language learner" - "homeless children"
Other Useful Databases for Topics in Education
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
To begin searching for articles for your research, go to the library homepage and use the OneSearch search box to begin. This tab will allow you to search for articles, books, e-resources, and more, at both CSU, Chico and throughout the CSU system.
For a brief overview on what databases are and why you need them for your research, check out this short video: