Databases are available to search on your topic. Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article. If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.
- Social Work Abstracts
SEARCH for any social work topic. FIND professional, scholarly social work journal article references.
- Social Services Abstracts (Proquest)
Provides coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Provides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Sources are focused on the social sciences.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes, abstracts, and some full text covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
A psychology database with a strong representation of social work journals. Many journals address the issues related to the interdisciplinary topics relevant for social work students.
An education database with a strong representation of educational social work topics.
Database for nursing and allied health, useful for medical social work topics.
- Academic Search
Provides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Has a multidisciplinary focus but a strong representation of social science journals.
- RAND California
provides articles, research reports, and statistical data on economic and public policy issues in California.