Link to ReSEARCH Station Home Link to the library catalog Link to page where you can find journal articles by subject link to the Research & Subject Guides browse all page Link to My Library Accounts Help -- Ask a Librarian
This is the "Home" page of the "History Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Resource Guide  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Call Number Guide

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION

Class D History of the World

D World History

DA Great Britain

DAW  Central Europe

DB Austria, Hungary Czechoslovakia

DC France

DD Germany

DE Greco-Roman World

DF Greece

DG Italy

DH Low Countries

DJ Netherlands

DK Russia

DL Northern Europe, Scandinavia

DP Spain, Portugal

DQ Switzerland

DR Balkan Peninsula

DS Asia

DT Africa

DU Oceania

 

Class E History of the Americas and United States

E11-143 Americas

E75-99 Indians of North America

E151-904 United States


Class F History of the Americas

F1-975 United State Local History

F856-870 California

F1001-1145 British America (including Canada)

F 1170 French America

F1201-3799 Latin America, Spanish America

F1201-1392 Mexico

 

 

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services (ILS) is available to request books, articles, and other items.  Often the ILS link is provided directly in the database and is the easiest way to submit a request.  Follow the "FIND IT" link and click the link Request your item through Interlibrary Services.

To use the system, you must first set up an account.  To directly logon go to Interlibrary Services

Databases

Databases are available to search on your topic.  Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article.  If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.

  • Academic Search
    Provides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Has a multidisciplinary focus but a strong representation of social science journals.
  • America: History & Life
    America, History and Life (AHL) is a database of bibliographic citations and article abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to present. It cites articles that were published in 1964 or later and that come from more than 2,000 journals published in more than 40 languages.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts presents historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954, it currently covers over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.
  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles from some of the top political science journals. Full-text articles provided. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
  • New York Times Historic Newspapers (1851-2003)
    The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
    Readers' Guide Retrospective provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Historic California Newspapers

This page lists historic California newpapers available on microfilm in the Meriam Library. The list is arrangec by county and title. Many of the newspapers in the microfilm collection may lack issues or have interrupted runs. These will be indicated in the full record in the library catalog. Search the catalog by title to verify holdings.

Humanities Librarian

George H. Thompson
Contact Info
California State University, Chico
Meriam Library
office: MLIB 305
530.898.6603
Send Email
 

Library Chat

Chat service is intended for CSU, Chico affiliated users.

meriam library | information resources | csu, chico

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip