Most Useful Databases
Discovery and Academic Search cover many disciplines and are a good place to start a basic search. For discipline specific research you may want to choose one of the more focused databases such as LiOn (literature), or ERIC (education). For further information about each database click on the blue i icon.
Literature Online Fulltext (LiOn)
LiON contains over 350,000 fully-searchable works of poetry, prose and drama. Also included are author biographies, guides to more than 200 classic and contemporary literary works from Aeschylus to Toni Morrison, and poets on screen -- a multimedia collection of major poets reading and interpreting their own works.
Artemis Literary Sources
Artemis Literary Sources combines several databases into one comprehensive literature database. Contemporary Authors provides biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 authors. The “largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available,” Literature Criticism Online, includes the resources Contemporary Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Artemis Literary Sources also includes Gale Virtual Reference Library, a multidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography contains more than 1.7 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Project MUSE offers access to the full text of scholarly articles from over 100 online journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,650 periodicals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center): SEARCH for information on any aspect of education including pre-school, K-12, post-secondary. FIND abstracts for journal articles, conference papers, teacher developed materials and more. Some full-text. an EBSCO database.
Find Journals and Newspapers (in the Catalog)
Meriam Library | CSU, Chico