Books
- WorldCat WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It includes the titles held by more than 10,000 libraries. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web.
- Library of CongressCatalog to more than 29,000,000 titles.
- Butte County Public LibrarySearch the holdings of all Butte County branches, including Chico, Paradise, Oroville. Biggs, Durham, Gridley, and the Bookmobile.
- Environmental Action and Resource CenterEnvironmental periodicals, books and videos
Information on local, regional, global environmental organizations and issues
Resources for volunteer, internship and job opportunities
E-ARC internships
Space for networking with other activists and groups
Research assistance
Educational outreach
Art supplies
Friendly and knowledgeable student staff
Comments (0)
Government Publications
- Federal Digital System (GPO)
- California Agency Databases
- Science.govGateway to government science information and research results. Provides a search of over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites.
- United States Geological Survey Publications
- Census Bureau
- American Factfinder (Census)Census Bureau data: population, houisng, economic, and geographic
- Catalog of United States Government PublicationsMultisubject access to publications by numerous government agencies
- Federal Government Publications Catalogs and Information Portals
- State & County Quick FactsQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography. QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people
- California Legislative Information
- National Climatic Data CenterProvides the followng data: Local Climatological Data, Climatological Data (monthly/annual publication), Hourly Precipitation Data, Storm Data, Monthly Climatic for the World, COOP Data/Record of Climatilogical Observation Form, Climatological Data National Summary, Other Publications and Documents
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image LibraryAccesses holdings of the Center for Research Libraries. CRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
- MINERVA: The Online Catalog for the California State ArchivesMinerva provides access to summary descriptions of the vast documentary treasures maintained by the California State Archives. A division of the Office of the Secretary of State, the California State Archives is responsible for the management and preservation of state government records. Within the more than 300 million items in its collections are documents from the state's first constitutional convention in 1849, land grant records of the Spanish and Mexican eras, campaign contribution statements, State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal case files, legislative committee files, original laws, papers of many of the state's leading politicians, and large collections of photographs, maps, drawings, and audio/visual materials.
- Spies, Intelligence, and Cryptography
Gov Docs on Spies, Intelligence, and Cryptography - Congress.GovUnited States legislative information. Includes legislation, house and senate members, and the legislative process.
Websites
- Science Reference Services
- Country watch
- Background Notes (U.S. State DepartmentThese publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
- ShowUSAShowUSA is a "shape-shifting" map in which states on the map change their size. Instead of land mass, the size of each state will represent the data for that subject--both its share of the total and absolute value.
- ShowUSAShowUSA is a "shape-shifting" map in which states on the map change their size. Instead of land mass, the size of each state will represent the data for that subject--both its share of the total and absolute value.
- The California Water AtlasA detailed, lavishly illustrated description of water and water issues in California. When published in 1979, Charles Wollenberg in the California Historical Quarterly called it "a very big and beautiful book...well-written, spectacularly illustrated, and filled with useful information for expert and layman alike...an indispensable sourcebook for decades to come." The Quarterly Review of Biology said it was "a major reference work of interest to applied ecologists concerned with water supply and
- The David Rumsey Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 25 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, although it also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date
- San Francisco Urban MapThe Urban Forest Map is a collaboration of government, nonprofits, businesses and you to map every tree in San Francisco. Along the way we'll calculate the environmental benefits the trees are providing -- how many gallons of stormwater they are helping to filter, how many pounds of air pollutants they are capturing, how many kilowatt-hours of energy they are conserving, and how many tons of carbon dioxide they are removing from the atmosphere.
- U.S. Government Photos and ImagesLinks to images produced and collected by numerous agencies. Most of these images and graphics are available for use in the public domain, and they may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license. We strongly recommend you thoroughly read the disclaimers on each site before use.
- The National AtlasMaps of America are what you'll find and make on nationalatlas.gov™. Maps of innovation and vision that illustrate our changing Nation. Maps that capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life. Maps that supplement interesting articles. Maps that tell their own stories. Maps that cover all of the United States or just your area of interest. Maps that are accurate and reliable from more than 20 Federal organizations. Maps about America's people, heritage, and resources
- National AtlasThis research guide lists maps and atlases found in print in the HSU Library and on the Internet that graphically depict California using maps.
Entries include both static maps and map servers that dynamically produce custom maps based on parameters you specify. - Topographic Map Symbols
- Gulf Oil Information CenterA guide to information and data concerning the BP Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico
- Geology.comUnited States and world maps
- Online Education Resources: Geology For Kids
- County Data: National Association of Countes
- StatsAmericaDetailed data by state and county
- National Association of CountiesNACo researches, publishes and disseminates a variety of information for and about counties, as part of its mission to increase public understanding of counties.
- State Data Center NetworkThe SDC lead agencies organize a statewide network of coordinating and affiliate agencies. This network works in partnership with the Census Bureau through the Customer Liaison and Marketing Services Office (CLMSO) and the Census Bureau's 12 Regional Offices for data dissemination at the very local level.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- - National Atlas Printable MapsMaps formatted to be viewed, printed, or downloaded.
Climate Maps
Congressional Districts for the 112th Congress
Federal Lands and Indian Reservations
Presidential Elections 1789 to 2008
Reference and Outline Maps of the United States
Satellite View Maps
Territorial Acquisitions of the United States
Time Zones
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
