Link to ReSEARCH Station Home Link to the library catalog Link to page where you can find journal articles by subject link to the Research & Subject Guides browse all page Link to My Library Accounts Help -- Ask a Librarian
This is the "Home" page of the "Religious Studies Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious Studies Resource Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/religion Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Call Number Guide

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION

CLASS BL-BV Religions

BL1-2790 Religions (general)

  • BL110-1295 Hinduism
  • BL1790-1975 Religion - China
  • BL2195-2228 Religion - Japan
  • BL2390-2490 Religion - Africa

BM Judaism

BP Islam

BQ Buddhism

BR Christianity

BS The Bible

BT-BV Theology

 

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services (ILS) is available to request books, articles, and other items.  Often the ILS link is provided directly in the database and is the easiest way to submit a request.  Follow the "FIND IT" link and click the link Request your item through Interlibrary Services.

To use the system, you must first set up an account.  To directly logon go to Interlibrary Services

Databases

Databases are available to search on your topic.  Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article.  If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.

  • Academic Search
    Provides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Has a multidisciplinary focus but a strong representation of social science journals.
  • ATLA Religion Indes
    ompiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1949.
  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles from some of the top political science journals. Full-text articles provided. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
  • Philospher's Index
    Philosopher's Index includes abstracts of scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Coverage from journal articles, books, book chapters and book reviews, from 1940- present.
  • SocINDEX
    SocINDEX with full text offers coverage from all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, cultural sociology, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others. SocINDEX contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals.

Digital Resources for Religious Studies

  • Oxford Art Online
    Oxford Art Online (comprising the full text of The dictionary of art, 1996), The Oxford companion to western art, The encyclopedia of aesthetics, and The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms. Covers every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
  • ArtSTOR
    ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Includes digital images and associated catalog data, tools to make active use of those images.
 

Search Tips

Brainstorm synonyms for your concept. Different databases use different words for the same concept.  Searching for alternative words improves your chances of success.

Modify your searches based on your results. If you find articles that reflect your interests, redo your search using words that appear in the title, subject headings, abstract, or full text of that article.

Use the asterisk (*) to find various word endings.  (i.e., democrat* finds democrat, democrats, or democratic)

Use the Boolean search operators: and, or, not, near.

AND Reduces the number of search results by requiring more than one term to appear in the same article. (i.e., democrat and obama and campaign)

OR Expands the number of search results by expanding the possible matches to include either one or the other term. (i.e., money or financ*)

NOT Reduces search results to omit references to articles with certain words that have nothing to do with your topic. (i.e., planning not wedding)

NEAR Reduces the search results by requiring two words to appear near one another in the articles. (i.e., political near part*)

Put it all together to make a sophisticated search:
(political near part*) and campaign* and (money or financ*)

Information Literacy Coordinator Librarian

Profile Image
Kevin Klipfel
Contact Info
530-898-4990
Office: Meriam Library 212
Send Email
 

Library Chat

meriam library | information resources | csu, chico

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip