Congress
- Branches of the U.S. Congress
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress The directory allows you to search for current and former members of Congress (1774-present) by name, position, or state. Information includes birth and death dates, education, employment, and election history.
- Lexis Nexis Congressional Full text information on bills, testimony, hearings, and reports. Also included are member and committee directories. (For CSU, Chico faculty, staff, and students only.)
- Thomas From the Library of Congress- Search by phrase or bill number, or sponsor; includes daily updates, coverage from the 101th (1989) Congress to current Congress.
- Project Vote Smart A record of positions and votes of all members of Congress. This site intends to be a voting guide by providing enough information about elected representatives to help you make an informed choice.
Presidency
- White House
- POTUS (Internet Public Library)
POTUS stands for the President of the United States. This site contains biographies and other information about American Presidents. - The Roper Center Contains reports on presidential popularity polls.
- Executive Branch Web Sites Links to official US Executive Branch web sites.
Judiciary
- Federal Courts Information and statistics about the activities of the Supreme Court, US District Courts, and Circuit Courts of Appeal.
- United States Supreme Court Featuring opinions, orders, and calendar. (official page)
- Legal Information Institute (LII) Contains highlights of the current Supreme Court term, law events recently in the news, court opinions, biographies and much more. From Cornell University.
- Jurist The Legal Education Network at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law.
- California Courts News, recent proposals, site map, program and reference information, and much more.
Issues and Interest Groups
- CQ Researcher Research articles covering hot political topics of the United States. Includes archive from 1923-current. (access limited to CSU, Chico)
- Political Advocacy Groups National level interest groups organized by broad subject.
- Public Agenda Online Overviews and poll results covering the major policy areas under discussion today.
- Center for Responsive Politics Track money flowing to federal election candidates, by interest group or candidate.
Constitution
- The Constitution Includes history and development of the Constitution
- Primary Documents in American History (Library of Congress) Collection of historical U.S. documents including all the Federalist Papers by Madison, Jay, and Hamilton, the Bill of Rights and Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789.
- National Archives Documents Contains links to other historical documents and links to information about the Declaration of Independence.
Canidates, Parties, and Elections
- C-SPAN Coverage of political events stored in Real Player format for viewing on your computer screen.
- The American Presidency Project From the University of California - Santa Barbara, Historic Presidential Election Party Platforms, only provides platforms for parties receiving electoral votes in the general election. (1840- )
- Political Party Platforms (current)
- Project Vote Smart Get educated and cast your vote! A source for nonpartisan, in depth candidate information.
- Center for American Women and Politics Bigraphical and issue information about women in American politics. Examples include gender gap and voting patterns, winners and losers in the 2000 election, and women-focused interest groups.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait