Link to ReSEARCH Station Home Link to the library catalog Link to page where you can find journal articles by subject Takes you to the Research & Subject Guides browse all page Link to My Library Accounts Help -- Ask a Librarian
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

POLS 331 

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/POLS331  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Articles            Print Page
  

APSA Citations

For more information, consult the

The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition (Call number: READY REF Z253 U69).

Style Manual for Political Science, revised edition (Call number: REF JA86.A52 2001)

 

Databases

Databases are available to search on your topic.  Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article.  If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.

  • SocIndex  
    Search for criminal justice and social issues topics. Link to full text articles.
  • International Political Science Abstracts  
    Search for scholarly political science articles. Links to full text articles in other databases.
  • JSTOR  
    Search for scholarly journal articles. All full text. Most recent two years usually not available.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    Search for scholarly articles in political science and criminal justice.
  • Academic Search  
    Search for articles on political science or criminal justice topics. Link to full text articles.
 

Search Tips

Brainstorm synonyms for your concept. Different databases use different words for the same concept.  Searching for alternative words improves your chances of success.

Modify your searches based on your results. If you find articles that reflect your interests, redo your search using words that appear in the title, subject headings, abstract, or full text of that article.

Use the asterisk (*) to find various word endings.  (i.e., democrat* finds democrat, democrats, or democratic)

Use the Boolean search operators: and, or, not, near.

AND Reduces the number of search results by requiring more than one term to appear in the same article. (i.e., democrat and obama and campaign)

OR Expands the number of search results by expanding the possible matches to include either one or the other term. (i.e., money or financ*)

NOT Reduces search results to omit references to articles with certain words that have nothing to do with your topic. (i.e., planning not wedding)

NEAR Reduces the search results by requiring two words to appear near one another in the articles. (i.e., political near part*)

Put it all together to make a sophisticated search:
(political near part*) and campaign* and (money or financ*)

 

Subject Librarian

Jodi Shepherd
Contact Info:
California State University, Chico
Meriam Library 95929-0295
(530) 898-5499
Send Email

Subjects:
Political Science, Law and Social Work

 

Library Help

If Ask a Librarian IM is not available use 24/7 or our other services.
Chat requires JavaScript.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait