Note
Note:
These examples vary slightly from APA format for journal articles in order to accommodate business resources. Although the database name is no longer required, it is used in lieu of a home or entry URL. The date of retrieval is used because online business source are not static. See pages 187-192 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2010) and pages 2-3 of the APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources.
APA - 6th edition
Citing online databases:
In the 6th edition of the APA Manual, the DOI is preferred for citing articles. Where there is no DOI, the journal home page is used if the item is free on the web. If the item is in limited circulation, the database name may be used. Always check with your professor.
Retrieval dates:
Retrieval dates are not included unless the source material does not have an issue number or date.
See Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition (pages 191-192) and APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources (page 3)
APA-like style format for online Business Resources
Citing business databases in APA format
ARTICLES in print or PDF
Ericson, T.J. Alsop, R., Nicholson, P., & Miller, J. (2009). Gen Y in the workplace. Harvard Business Review, 87(2), 43-49.
ARTICLES from database without DOI
Ericson, T.J. Alsop, R., Nicholson, P., & Miller, J. (2009). Gen Y in the workplace. Harvard Business Review, 87(2), 43-49. Retrieved February 10, 2009 from Business Source Premier database.
ARTICLES from database with DOI
Twenge, J.M. & Campbell S.M (2009). Generational differences in psychological traits and their impact on the workplace. Journal of Managerial Psychology, 23(8),
862-877.doi:10.1108/02683940810904367
BOOK
Conniff, R. (2005). The ape in the corner office: Understanding the workplace beast in all of us. New York: Crown Business.
MARKET RESEARCH REPORT from Mintel
Mintel. (2009). Ice Cream and Frozen Novelties – US – May 2009. Retrieved February 3, 2011 from Mintel Oxygen database.
MARKET RESEARCH REPORT from Passport GMID
Euromonitor International Inc. (2012, June 27). Apparel in Chile: Industry Overview. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.
Euromonitor International Inc. (2012, September 28). Digital Life and Consumers (replacing Web 2.0 and Consumers.) Retrieved from Passport GMID database.
INDUSTRY MARKET REPORT from IBISWorld
Zwolak, Roman. (2010). IBISWorld Industry Report 71395. Bowling Alleys in the US. Retrieved August 6, 2010 from IBISWorld database.
INDUSTRY SURVEY from NetAdvantage
Kessler, S.H. (2008, September 25). Computers: Consumer services and the Internet. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Retrieved January 10, 2009 from Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.
COMPANY REPORT from NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's. (2009). Google Inc 'A'. Company Profile. Retrieved March 4, 2009 from Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.
COMPANY REPORT from Business Source Premier
Datamonitor. (2009, January 29). Goya Foods, Inc. Company Profile. Retrieved February 1, 2009 from Business Source Premier database.
COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDE from Export.gov
U.S. Department of Commerce. (2009, March 31). Doing Business in Argentina: 2009 country commercial guide for U.S. companies. Retrieved October 12, 2009 from Export.gov.
COUNTRY REPORT from Passport GMID
Euromonitor International. (2011, March 29). Income and Expenditure: Brazil. Country Briefing. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.
COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS from U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census Bureau. (2008). 2008 Zip Code Business Patterns (NAICS). Retrieved February 21, 2011 http://censtats.census.gov/cbpnaic/cbpnaic.shtml.
WEB SITE (trade or Professional Association)
National Restaurant Association (2008, November 14). Restaurant industry at a glance. Retrieved December 10, 2008 from http://www.restaurant.org/research/ind_glance.cfm.
APA-style for business publications
CAUTION: REMEMBER TO USE HANGING INDENT AND INDENT THE 2ND AND 3RD LINES OF EACH SOURCE CITATION. Sorry for not being able to show that in html currently; a revision is underway.
Citing business databases in APA format
ARTICLES in print or PDF
Ericson, T.J. Alsop, R., Nicholson, P., & Miller, J. (2009). Gen Y in the workplace. Harvard Business Review, 87(2), 43-49.
ARTICLES from database without DOI
Ericson, T.J. Alsop, R., Nicholson, P., & Miller, J. (2009). Gen Y in the workplace. Harvard Business Review, 87(2), 43-49. Retrieved February 10, 2009 from Business Source Premier database.
ARTICLES from database with DOI
Twenge, J.M. & Campbell S.M (2009). Generational differences in psychological traits and their impact on the workplace. Journal of Managerial Psychology, 23(8),
862-877.doi:10.1108/02683940810904367
BOOK
Conniff, R. (2005). The ape in the corner office: Understanding the workplace beast in all of us. New York: Crown Business.
MARKET RESEARCH REPORT from Mintel
Mintel. (2009). Ice Cream and Frozen Novelties – US – May 2009. Retrieved February 3, 2011 from Mintel Oxygen database.
MARKET RESEARCH REPORT from Passport GMID
Euromonitor International Inc. (2012, June 27). Apparel in Chile: Industry Overview. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.
Euromonitor International Inc. (2012, September 28). Digital Life and Consumers (replacing Web 2.0 and Consumers.) Retrieved from Passport GMID database.
INDUSTRY MARKET REPORT from IBISWorld
Zwolak, Roman. (2010). IBISWorld Industry Report 71395. Bowling Alleys in the US. Retrieved August 6, 2010 from IBISWorld database.
INDUSTRY SURVEY from NetAdvantage
Kessler, S.H. (2008, September 25). Computers: Consumer services and the Internet. Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Retrieved January 10, 2009 from Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.
COMPANY REPORT from NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's. (2009). Google Inc 'A'. Company Profile. Retrieved March 4, 2009 from Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage database.
COMPANY REPORT from Business Source Premier
Datamonitor. (2009, January 29). Goya Foods, Inc. Company Profile. Retrieved February 1, 2009 from Business Source Premier database.
COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDE from Export.gov
U.S. Department of Commerce. (2009, March 31). Doing Business in Argentina: 2009 country commercial guide for U.S. companies. Retrieved October 12, 2009 from Export.gov.
COUNTRY REPORT from Passport GMID
Euromonitor International. (2011, March 29). Income and Expenditure: Brazil. Country Briefing. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.
COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS from U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census Bureau. (2008). 2008 Zip Code Business Patterns (NAICS). Retrieved February 21, 2011 http://censtats.census.gov/cbpnaic/cbpnaic.shtml.
WEB SITE (trade or Professional Association)
National Restaurant Association (2008, November 14). Restaurant industry at a glance. Retrieved December 10, 2008 from http://www.restaurant.org/research/ind_glance.cfm.
Best APA Guides
- Citing Business Resources (Bentley Library, Waltham, MA)
- OWL @ PurdueOnline Writing Laboratory from Purdue University
- Meriam Library APA Style Guide
Free Citation Builders
- NoodleBib ExpressFREE software for building citations in MLA and APA. Does not store citations.
- KnightCiteKnightCite is a free online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. MLA, APA, & Chicago styles only.
Citation Management Tools
- ZoteroFREE plug-in for Firefox that allows you to store and organize citations as you find them on your personal computer. Also allows you to create bibliographies in 20+ styles.
- EndNoteAvailable to CSU, Chico students, faculty & staff. Desktop reference/citation manager. Store citations and create bibliographies. Windows and Mac.
- How to set up and use your Endnote account.
Why Cite?
Citing sources helps other scholars track down resources. Proper citation helps us build knowledge.
If you directly quote or paraphrase an idea from another author or source, you must give credit through a citation. Anything less is plagiarism.
Avoiding Plagiarism
- CSU, Chico Policy On Academic Integrity (EM 04-06)Defines academic integrity and plagiarism; outlines faculty and student responsibilities.
- You Quote It - You Note ItFun tutorial from Vaughan Memorial Library on how to avoid plagiarism.


Loading...
