Link to ReSEARCH Station Home Link to the library catalog Link to page where you can find journal articles by subject link to the Research & Subject Guides browse all page Link to My Library Accounts Help -- Ask a Librarian
This is the "Databases and Books" page of the "POLS 623 - Political Parties" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POLS 623 - Political Parties  

Class help page for POLS 623: US Political Parties
Last Updated: Mar 9, 2010 URL: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/POLS623 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Meriam Library Catalog

 

Subject Searching

When looking for books or articles try to narrow down your subject.

For Example:

  • First search the broad term political parties.
  • The results returned will have the keyword political parities somewhere in the record.
  • Look for the hyperlinked subject terms to lead you to more items with this same subject.
  • The result should be more items on your topic, with less searching.

 

Databases

Databases are available to search on your topic.  Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article.  If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.

  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles from some of the top political science journals. Full-text articles provided. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
  • International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)
    The leading political science database in our library. Has an international focus, so it is one of the better sources for foreign political parties. Provides abstracts, click on FIND IT for full text.
  • SocIndex
    Provides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Sources are focused on the social sciences.
  • Academic Search
    Provides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Has a multidisciplinary focus but a strong representation of social science journals.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    Find news from the US and around the world. For international parties, select Guided News Search, World News, and the continent where your party operates. For US parties, search the General News, Major Papers category. NOT for scholarly literature.
 

Search Tips

Brainstorm synonyms for your concept. Different databases use different words for the same concept.  Searching for alternative words improves your chances of success.

Modify your searches based on your results. If you find articles that reflect your interests, redo your search using words that appear in the title, subject headings, abstract, or full text of that article.

Use the asterisk (*) to find various word endings.  (i.e., democrat* finds democrat, democrats, or democratic)

Use the Boolean search operators: and, or, not, near.

AND Reduces the number of search results by requiring more than one term to appear in the same article. (i.e., democrat and obama and campaign)

OR Expands the number of search results by expanding the possible matches to include either one or the other term. (i.e., money or financ*)

NOT Reduces search results to omit references to articles with certain words that have nothing to do with your topic. (i.e., planning not wedding)

NEAR Reduces the search results by requiring two words to appear near one another in the articles. (i.e., political near part*)

Put it all together to make a sophisticated search:
(political near part*) and campaign* and (money or financ*)

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Jodi Shepherd
Contact Info
California State University, Chico
Meriam Library 95929-0295
(530) 898-5499
Send Email
 

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services (ILL) is available to request books, articles, and other items.  Often the ILL link is provided directly in the database and is the easiest way to submit a request.  Follow the "FIND IT" link and click the link Request your item through Interlibrary Services.

To use the system, you must first set up an account.  To directly logon go to Interlibrary Services

meriam library | information resources | csu, chico

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip