Mathematics and Statistics

This guide will help you find information about mathematics and statistics.

One Search

The Meriam Library's One Search service allows users to search almost all of the databases available to users simultaneously. You'll find One Search on the Library's homepage.

Specific Databases

Some users may find it advantageous to search for articles in a database that is specific to mathematics and statistics, or includes an easily accessible subset of relevant content. This allows them to avoid irrelevant search results that can occur in a more comprehensive search service such as One Search.

  • MathSciNet -- Reviews and citations to research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
  • Science Direct -- The world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Comprehensive and peer-reviewed titles. Over 1800 journals from Elsevier Science. Over four million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.
  • SpringerLink -- Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.
  • Wiley Online Library -- Full text of over 1,200 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
  • JSTOR -- Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.

 

Browsing Mathematics and Statistics Journals

You can browse all of the mathematics and statistics journals to which the Library has access by following these steps:

  1. Go to One Search on the Library's homepage.
  2. Select "Advanced Search" -- it appears underneath the One Search search prompt.
  3. Once at the advanced search screen, select "Books @ Chico"; then select "Subject" in the pull-down menu; then enter "mathematics periodicals" in the search prompt and click the search button.
  4. This will display all of our mathematics journals. You can display all of our statistics journals by substituting the word "statistics" for "mathematics" at the search prompt.

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico