ENGL 356 - Lit, Politics, and Activism

The Best Database for Literature

A good place to search for scholarly articles is Literature Online (LiOn) as it is devoted to literature and criticism. It contains records for the MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). LiOn also links to articles from Project MUSE and JSTOR. 

To search LiOn go to the Criticism link on the database's home page. Then select the "All Criticism." Start your search with key words and possibly a subject like a title. Try various searches until you get results you can use. You may also want to limit the publication date, source type, and whether or not you only want to view records with full text. If you do not limit to full text you may need to use Interlibrary Services (directions on the right). If you need more help with searching try the Help link in the upper right corner or contact a librarian. 

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services (ILS) is available to request books, articles, and other items.  Often the ILS link is provided directly in the database and is the easiest way to submit a request.  Follow the "FIND IT" link and click the link Request your item through Interlibrary Services.

To use the system, you must first set up an account.  To directly logon go to Interlibrary Services.

Link Google Scholar to the Meriam Library

To utilize the full potential of Google Scholar link it to Meriam Library. By doing this you can then see if the library has the items that you want (Find It @ Chico) and if not then you can go directly to ILS. To link to the Meriam Library follow the below steps:

1. Once in Google Scholar, go to Settings at the top of the page

2. Click on Library links 

3. Search for CSU, Chico; select and save

4. You may be directed to login to your portal account to verify library access

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico