CALS Resources

Chico Affordable Learning Solutions (CALS) has compiled this collection of OER and free resources for the CSU, Chico campus

Where to Find Open Textbooks

Affordable Learning Solutions (from the CSU)
http://als.csuprojects.org/free-etextbooks
You can search by ISBN's  to find an Open Textbook related to a book. The page also includes a keyword search tool by topic for the MERLOT database, and links to textbooks in MERLOT by subject.

BCcampus
BC Campus provides a curated  list of open textbooks http://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/
In the meantime, the BC govenment  is funding  the creation of Open Textbooks for high enrollment undergraduate courses. It  is part of their Open Textbook Project.

COOLforED 
This webpage from COOLforED  provides sources of free and open textbooks.
http://www.cool4ed.org/findetextbooks.html

MERLOT's Open Textbooks
http://www.merlot.org/merlot/advSearchMaterials.htm
Enter your subject area in the keyword box and select "open textbook" from the "Material Type" attribute list.

OpenStax College
http://openstaxcollege.org
"OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers." Open Stax is an initiative of Rice University and Connexions.

Orange Grove
http://florida.theorangegrove.org/og/access/home.do
Click on the link for "browse open collections" and then the link for "open textbooks" in the succeeding page

College Open Text Books
http://collegeopentextbooks.org/
"The Community College Open Textbooks Collaborative is funded by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. This collection of sixteen educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges."

Saylor Foundation
Here is a link to Saylor's Bookshelf page, which "...contains over 100 full length textbooks..."
http://www.saylor.org/books/

University of Minnesota Open Textbook Catalog
https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/ All textbooks in the Minnesota catalog must meet four conditions: (1) Openly licensed (2) Complete (3)Suitable for adoption outside the author's institution (4) Available in print.

 


 

ISBN for Psychology, David Meyers, 9781429299909

Affordable Textbooks

Boundless: Textbooks from Boundless.com  aren't free or open, but cost a reasonable $29.99 per student per class.
The story of Boundless is also very intriguing, and so are their graphics on the outrageous price increases of textbooks in the recent past: http://blog.boundless.com/2013/04/the-cost-of-textbooks-is-too-damn-high-so-boundless-made-free-ones/

 

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico