LibGuides: Finance & Investments: Articles & Books

OneSearch

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Find articles, books, course reserves, and more --- all from a single entry point. OneSearch includes the library's physical items and most of the library’s electronic content.

Financial texts

Corporate Finance by Vernimmen

Articles

Business Source Premier
Scholarly & trade journals, most full-text.

Use the databases on the Business Subject page to find scholarly, trade, magazine, and newspaper articles. Or try the 'search everything box on the library home page. The FIND IT button will lead to full-text articles in other databases and sources.

ABI / Inform
Scholary journals, most full-text. Includes Wall Street Journal.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to seminal finance journal literature.

Science Direct
Scholarly journals about business, management, econometrics, and finance.

Characteristics of a Scholarly Article

Always cite their sources in the form of footnotes or bibliographies
Are written by an authority or expert in the field whose credentials are prominently stated
Often have a formal appearance with tables, graphs, and diagrams
The language includes specialized terms and the jargon of the discipline
Lengthy articles, typically more than 7 pages and often over 20 pages
Contain original research, experimentation, or in-depth studies in the field
Advertising is minimal or non-existent (if you are looking at the print or PDF version)

Download What Is A Scholarly Article handout

here for more characteristics and examples.