Call Number Guide
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION
CLASS N- FINE ARTS
N Visual arts
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
TP Clay, ceramics, glass
TR Photography
TT Woodworking
Interlibrary Services
Interlibrary Services (ILS) is available to request books, articles, and other items. Often the ILS link is provided directly in the database and is the easiest way to submit a request. Follow the "FIND IT" link and click the link Request your item through Interlibrary Services.
To use the system, you must first set up an account. To directly logon go to Interlibrary Services
Databases
Databases are available to search on your topic. Each one indexes unique journals and either provides a summary (abstract) or full text of the article. If full text is not available, look for the FIND IT button or link to direct you where the full text is available.
- Academic SearchProvides both scholarly and newsy publications, some in full-text. Easy to understand, easy to limit to scholarly journals (click the box for "peer reviewed"). Has a multidisciplinary focus but a strong representation of social science journals.
- Art IndexArt Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
- JSTORScholarly articles from some of the top political science journals. Full-text articles provided. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.
- Project MuseProject MUSE offers access to the full text of scholarly articles from over 100 online journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history,music, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteContains academic and magazine articles on design topics. Many are available full-text here or use the Find It button to locate content in print or other databases.
Digital Resources for Art
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online (comprising the full text of The dictionary of art, 1996), The Oxford companion to western art, The encyclopedia of aesthetics, and The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms. Covers every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
- ArtSTORARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Includes digital images and associated catalog data, tools to make active use of those images.
- Material ConneXionInformation about materials for artists & designers in all disciplines - industrial, furniture, packaging, graphics, fashion, interior design, landscape architecture and transportation.
- WorldImagesContains over 80,000 images of art and culture from around the world. Intended for CSU student and faculty research and creative projects.
Search Tips
Brainstorm synonyms for your concept. Different databases use different words for the same concept. Searching for alternative words improves your chances of success.
Modify your searches based on your results. If you find articles that reflect your interests, redo your search using words that appear in the title, subject headings, abstract, or full text of that article.
Use the asterisk (*) to find various word endings. (i.e., democrat* finds democrat, democrats, or democratic)
Use the Boolean search operators: and, or, not, near.
AND Reduces the number of search results by requiring more than one term to appear in the same article. (i.e., democrat and obama and campaign)
OR Expands the number of search results by expanding the possible matches to include either one or the other term. (i.e., money or financ*)
NOT Reduces search results to omit references to articles with certain words that have nothing to do with your topic. (i.e., planning not wedding)
NEAR Reduces the search results by requiring two words to appear near one another in the articles. (i.e., political near part*)
Put it all together to make a sophisticated search:
(political near part*) and campaign* and (money or financ*)
Art Librarian |
Contact Info Meriam Library Room 213 530-898-6139 Feel free to contact me with your research questions! Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Art and Art History |




Loading...
