MGMT 450/451/452 - New Business Ventures research

Research tools and strategy

Business and Economics Librarian

Wendy Diamond's picture
Wendy Diamond
Office Hours: Mondays 2-3 and Thursdays 11-12. Or by appointment - wdiamond@csuchico.edu
Contact:
Meriam Library 410
530-898-6139

Library Chat

Chat service is intended for CSU, Chico affiliated users.

Best bets

IBISWorld

Research about US markets in over 100 industries, and almost 750 NAICS codes, including descriptive data on over 8000 US companies and data and analysis for over 500 economic and demographic series.

MarketResearch.com Academic

Offers reports covering consumer goods, business & financial services, travel & leisure, food service, agriculture, manufacturing & construction, materials & chemicals, healthcare & diagnostics, biotechnology, e-commerce & information technology, and education & other public sectors. The reports come from varied publishers and contain balanced quantitative and qualitative analysis with competitive analysis, market trends, demographics, product innovation, buyer behavior and market share.

Mergent Online

Financial details of over 13,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, as well as over 24,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Includes over 300,000 U.S. and international company annual reports.

Business Source Premier

Full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

ABI/Inform Complete

Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

BizMiner

Provides financial ratios, profit and loss benchmarks, and industry statistical reports at the granular level most useful to business planners, start-ups, sole proprietorships, small businesses, and local enterprise.

NAICS Industry Codes (what & whyfore?)

The North American Industry Classification System is used to organize industry information. It is a hierarchical classification system, offering five levels of detail.

Industries are represented by a six-digit number. The first two digits designate the economic sector: manufacturing, agriculture, wholesale, retail, professional services, etc. The subsequent digits designate subsectors and industry groups.

Each digit in the code is part of a series of progressively narrower categories.

Example:

44 - Retail

445 - Food & Beverage Stores

4452 - Specialty Food Stores

445291 - Baked Goods Stores
Thus the NAICS code for bakeries is 445291

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC), a previous system, is still in use in some sources.

Is your industry manufacturing, agriculture, retail, professional service...?

 

 

Government agencies and private publishers use NAICS to organize industry information. 

 

Loading ...

Meriam Library | CSU, Chico